top of page
  • Writer's pictureRuizhi Zhang

'ToY' stop motion movie


Inspiration


My theme for this project is toys, because I love toys and I have a favourite stop-motion YouTuber called animist, so if you're interested, go to YouTube and search for him. In this work, toys are used to warn people against excessive consumption and reveal the monitoring of big data on people's lives.



Process







I used green plastic upholstery to make this simple green screen studio. And after several upgrades, to solve the problem of lighting. Because I want to make sure that the shadow of the toy is not too obvious when the green screen is shot.


Myself toy image



In terms of my own toy image, due to technical and time issues I couldn't make the new toy completely by hand, so I used existing toys to reassemble it, and if you notice at the beginning and end of the video I'm dressed as close to the toy as possible.


Diffcults



The biggest problem was patience. It was more difficult to keep the toys relative to each other than I thought, and to ensure the coordination of the two toys when they stood together. I took a lot of pictures back and forth and reshot the scene several times. Because the toy might fall down during the shoot, so I'd have to do it all over again.


Conclusion


I think my work is still rough, the action of the toy is not very smooth, and the green screen is not completely eliminated, but I am working on these problems, and I think the second half of the video is much better than the first half. I actually changed the project that should have been carried out, but I still tried to respond to the previous theme of "big data", hoping that this film would be interesting and make the audience think.




9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Glass world

What does the world look like when you see it through the glass?

bottom of page